HOME>>Placement of Materials / Searching

Using the Library

Placement of Materials / Searching

Search for books and magazines using webOPAC, then verify the call number and location in the Annex. You can also search in the Annex directly using the appropriate classifications.
>> Floor Map

Placement of Materials

Books Japanese Library Annex 1st Floor, 2nd Floor /
Library Annex Ⅲ 2nd Floor
[
S1Japanese・ S2 Japanese・E2 Japanese K-KD]
Label
PINK
A-GB (Politics, Economics, Society, History) are on the first floor of Library Annex Ⅰ, GC-HR / KE-Y (Religion, Art, Literature, Bunko and Shinsho Paperbacks) are shelved on the second floor of Library Annex Ⅰ. K-KD (Arts and Music) are shelved on the second floor of Library Annex Ⅲ.
Oversized Library Annex 2nd Floor [S2 Oversized Japanese] Oversized Japanese books (YP・YQ) are located on separate shelves.
English etc. Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor
Library Annex Ⅲ 2nd Floor
[G3 Foreign・
E2 Foreign N]
Label
BLUE
Books written primarily in Western languages such as English, labeled “foreign books,” are located on the third floor of Library Annex Ⅱ. Of these, N-NX (Arts) are shelved on the second floor of Library Annex Ⅲ.
Chinese Library Annex Ⅱ 2nd Floor [G2 Chinese] Label ORANGE
Hangul Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor [G3 Hangul] Label GREEN
Russian Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor [G3 Russian] Label
NAVY
Foreign Oversized Library Annex Ⅱ 2nd Floor [S2 Oversized Foreign] Label
BLUE
All oversized books in foreign languages (YP・YQ) are shelved together, regardless of language.
Periodical Japanese Bound Library Annex Ⅱ 1st Floor(Moving bookshelves) [G1 Periodical] Bound
RED
Japanese magazines are shelved in the order of the Japanese syllabary by title.
New Arrivals Library Annex Ⅱ 1st Floor(Wooden bookshelves) [G1 Periodical]
English etc. Bound Library Annex Ⅱ 2nd Floor(Moving bookshelves) [G2 Periodical] Bound BLUE Magazines written primarily in Western languages such as English, labeled “Foreign Magazines,” are shelved alphabetically by title.
New Arrivals Library 2nd Floor(Wooden bookshelves) [G2 Periodical] The latest editions of foreign-language magazines are shelved on the second floor of the library by the sofas.
Chinese Bound Library Annex Ⅱ 2nd Floor Bound BLUE
New Arrivals Library Annex Ⅱ 2nd Floor(Wooden bookshelves) [G1 Periodical BN] The latest editions of foreign-language magazines are shelved on the second floor of the library by the sofas.
Hangul Bound Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor Bound BLUE
New Arrivals Library 2nd Floor(Wooden bookshelves) [G1 Periodical BN] The latest editions of foreign-language magazines are shelved on the second floor of the library by the sofas.
Russian Bound Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor Bound BLUE
New Arrivals Library 2nd Floor(Wooden bookshelves) [G1 Periodical BN] The latest editions of foreign-language magazines are shelved on the second floor of the library by the sofas.
Reference (all) Library 1st Floor [T1 Reference] Label GREEN No Sticker Reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Biographical (all) Library 1st Floor [T1 Catalog] Label GREEN Sticker BLUE Reference works such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Catalog (all) Library 2nd Floor [T2 Catalog] Label GREEN Sticker GREEN Catalogs and bibliographies for libraries and archives in Japan and overseas.
Yearbook (all) Library 2nd, 3rd Floor [T2 Yearbook・T3 Chinese Yearbook] Label GREEN Sticker RED Japanese and foreign yearbooks, white papers. Most Chinese-language yearbooks are shelved on the third floor of the library.
  • Sōda Collection: Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor [G3 Sōda Collection] Classical texts, traditionally bound books shelved separately
  • Noma Collection: Library Annex Ⅱ 3rd Floor [G3 Noma Collection] Classical texts such as Noma rekiyō shelved separately
  • Bunko editions: Library Annex 2nd Floor US/2~
  • Shinsho editions: Library Annex 2nd Floor US/1~
  • VHS video・DVD・CDs, etc.: Audiovisual room [E1 AV]. Ask at the counter.
  • Microfilm: Microfilm Room [S1 Micro] Ask at the counter.
  • CD-ROM/DVD (Database): AV Room [T1 AV] Ask at the counter.

Book Classifications

Japanese-language Books, etc.

(Japanese, Chinese, Hangul, Reference Books)
Shelved according to National Diet Library Classification (NDLC).

A Politics, Law, Administration SA Anthropology
B Parliamentary Publications SB Psychology
C Legal Materials SC Medical Sciences
D Economics, Industry SD Pharmaceutical Sciences
DT Statistics U-UM General Learning, Journalism, Libraries
E Social Affairs, Labor UP Bibliographies, Catalogs
F Education UR Encyclopedias
G History, Geography US Shinsho and Bunko Editions, Other Series
H-HD Philosophy Y Children’s Books, Textbooks, Limited Cataloging Materials
HK-HR Religion YA-YT Special Materials
K-KD The Arts YG Maps
KE-KT Language, Literature YP Oversized Books
M-P Natural Sciences, Engineering Z Almanacs, Yearbooks
RA Biology    

Books in Western Languages

Shelved according to Library of Congress Classification (LCC).

A General Works K Law
B-BJ Philosophy L Education
BL-BX Religion M Music
C Auxiliary Sciences of History N Fine Arts
D World History (excluding History of the Americas) P Language and Literature
E-F History of the Americas Q Science
G Geography, Anthropology, Recreation R Medicine
H Social Sciences S Agriculture
HA Statistics T Technology
HB-HJ Economics U Military Science
HM-HK Sociology V Naval Science
J Political Science Z Bibliography, Library Science